Instructions for configuring mail transfer via ciphermail

Hello, I’m a student and I was assigned to research mail configuration via ciphermail gateway. Currently, I have installed a mail server using dovecot, postfix and configured ciphermail gateway. but I don’t know how the message can go through the ciphermail gateway to encrypt/decrypt and return to the user. Please help me configure mail transfer. thank you!

CipherMail gateway should be configured as a “postfix after queue filter”, i.e., the first time postfix receives an email, postfix will deliver the email to the CipherMail back-end. After handling, the back-end will then send the email back to postfix for further delivery.

For details on how to configure a postfix after queue filter, see Postfix After-Queue Content Filter

Basically what you need to configure is:

1. In master.cf add a service (for example name it ciphermail)

ciphermail unix -       -       n       -       4      smtp
                -o smtp_send_xforward_command=yes
                -o disable_dns_lookups=yes
                -o smtp_generic_maps=

2. in main.cf configure content_filter to point to the IP of the CIpherMail back-end

content_filter = ciphermail:[127.0.0.1]:10025

this will send email to the back-end on localhost:10025

3. Add a “reinjection” port to postfix for email sent by the back-end back to postfix

In master.cf add a service

# injection port for mail handled by the back-end
    127.0.0.1:10026 inet  n       -       -       -       10      smtpd
            -o content_filter= 
            -o receive_override_options=no_unknown_recipient_checks,no_header_body_checks,no_milters
            -o smtpd_helo_restrictions=
            -o smtpd_client_restrictions=
            -o smtpd_sender_restrictions=
            -o smtpd_recipient_restrictions=permit_mynetworks,reject
            -o smtpd_tls_security_level=
            -o mynetworks=127.0.0.0/8
            -o smtpd_authorized_xforward_hosts=127.0.0.0/8